Online Store
Home > David Unaipon

UQP devised and launched the David Unaipon Award in 1988 – the bicentennial year of white settlement. It is recognised as the most coveted Indigenous writing prize in the country.

The winner of the first David Unaipon Award was Graeme Dixon for his manuscript Holocaust Island. It was published in 1989 following a 12 month mentoring process to develop the manuscript.

Past winners include:

Many winners have achieved notable writing careers.

For over 20 years, UQP has been committed to publishing the winners of the David Unaipon Award. UQP will continue to publish and celebrate the wonderful collection of contemporary writing and Indigenous stories awarded the David Unaipon Award into the future.  

View all books in David Unaipon


What's New

Congratulations to Melissa Lucashenko, who has won the 2019 Miles Franklin Literary Award for her novel Too Much Lip.

Read more